“This weekend in motorsport”- 6-7 March 2021


With the MotoGP and F1 season starts fast approaching, let us dive into some information you need to know before the start of the much-anticipated 2021 season.

The MotoGP is set to do its Shakedown Test today (05/03) and with that a recap of the crazy events of last season:

A total of nine riders won a race, 15 different riders stood on the podium including a rookie, KTM won their first MotoGP race alongside Tech3, Ducati were crowned constructors champions and MotoGP crowned a new champion, Joan Mir, on his Suzuki who had also won their first title in 20 years!

All this without the presence of 6-time MotoGP championship winner, Marc Marquez.


Here are the changes to the teams for the 2021 season:

Fabio Quartararo moves to the Yamaha factory team from Petronas Yamaha.

Valentino Rossi swaps seats with Quartararo, leaving the Yamaha factory team after 15 seasons over two stints with the team.

Pol Espargaró moves to Repsol Honda after 4 years with the KTM factory team, replacing Álex Márquez, who moves to LCR under a Honda factory contract, in turn replacing Cal Crutchlow.

Crutchlow in turn joins Yamaha as a test rider, replacing Jorge Lorenzo.

Miguel Oliveira moves from KTM satellite team Tech3 to the factory team. Danilo Petrucci replaces Oliveira at Tech3 after two seasons with the Ducati factory team.

Andrea Dovizioso left the Ducati factory team after 8 seasons with the team at the end of the 2020 season. On 10 November 2020, he announced his intentions to take a sabbatical for the 2021 season and focus on a return in 2022.

Both Pramac Racing riders Jack Miller and Francesco Bagnaia move to the factory Ducati team.

Johann Zarco (coming from Esponsorama) and Jorge Martín (promoted from Moto2 with KTM Ajo) replace them.

Enea Bastianini and Luca Marini are promoted from Moto2 to Esponsorama Racing, replacing Zarco and Tito Rabat, the latter having his contract terminated for 2021.

Lorenzo Savadori will be promoted from a test rider position to a race seat for Aprilia Racing Team Gresini, after Andrea Iannone received a four-year competition ban for a doping violation:

The teams are as follows:

  1. Repsol Honda Team: Marc Marquez and Pol Espargaro
  2. Ducati Team: Jack Miller and Francesco Bagnaia
  3. Monster Energy Yamaha MotoGP: Maverick Viñales and Fabio Quartararo
  4. Team Suzuki Ecstar: Alex Rins and Joan Mir
  5. Red Bull KTM Factory Racing: Brad Binder and Miguel Oliveira
  6. Aprilia Racing Team Gresini: Aleix Espargaro and Lorenzo Savadori or Bradley Smith
  7. Petronas Yamaha SRT: Valentino Rossi and Franco Morbidelli
  8. LCR Honda Castrol: Alex Marquez and Takaaki Nakagami
  9. Pramac Racing: Johann Zarco and Jorge Martin
  10. Red Bull KTM Tech3: Danilo Petrucci and Iker Lecuona
  11. Esponsorama Racing: Enea Bastianini and Luca Marini


Lights go out for the Grand Prix of Qatar at 19:00 on Sunday, 28 March. With the Moto2 and Moto3 races starting at 17:20 and 16:00 respectively.



In Formula1 a few changes to race rules have been announced, you can have a full look in detail on their website:

Formula1/2021 F1 rules and regulation changes.

  1. Changes to the cars’ floors
  2. Rear brake duct winglets shortened
  3. Diffuser fences cut down
  4. Cost cap introduced
  5. A new sliding scale for aerodynamic testing
  6. Minimum weights of cars and power units increased
  7. Clamping down on copying parts
  8. Pirelli set to bring new compounds
  9. DAS banned
  10. Automatic tyre allocations
  11. All practice sessions now set at 60 minutes
  12. New materials permitted


The pre-season testing is going to take place on the 12th – 14th March 2021 with the first race weekend starting on the 26th of March with the lights going out at 17:00 in Sunday, 28th March.


Here is a full list of the drivers and their teams for the 2021 season:


Team                                                     Drivers

Mercedes                                           Lewis Hamilton

Valtteri Bottas


Red Bull                                               Max Verstappen

Sergio Perez


McLaren                                              Daniel Ricciardo

Lando Norris


Aston Martin (Racing Point)       Sebastian Vettel

Lance Stroll


Alpine (Renault)                              Fernando Alonso

Esteban Ocon


Ferrari                                                  Charles Leclerc

Carlos Sainz


AlphaTauri                                          Pierre Gasly

Yuki Tsunoda


Alfa Romeo                                        Kimi Räikkönen

Antonio Giovinazzi


Haas                                                      Mick Schumacher

Nikita Mazepin


Williams                                              George Russell

Nicholas Latifi


All eyes will be on reigning champion, Lewis Hamilton.

Can anyone dethrone the 7-time champ? We will soon find out!


To stay up to date with relative motorsport news at home or abroad, be sure to follow and like out social media platforms.