This weekend in motorsport – 17-18 April 2021


At the Autodromo Enzo e Dino Ferrari circuit rain made things challenging as drivers cued up for the start of the Emilia Romagna Grand Prix.

The race had its fair share of drama as a collision between Mercedes driver, Valtteri Bottas and Williams driver, George Russell caused a Red Flag and the racing having to be restarted, leaving both drivers out of the race.

An amazing restart from Max Verstappen saw the Dutchman hold the top spot from start to finish of the race.

A rare mistake by Lewis Hamilton saw the 7-time champion sitting in 8th position before the restart, after an amazing show of drivers skills, Hamilton managed to take the 2nd place on the Podium followed by Lando Norris in his McLaren.

This resulted in Verstappen close behind Hamilton in the points race with only 1 point separating them going into the Portuguese GP next month!


Results are as follows:

  1. Max Verstappen              RED BULL RACING HONDA                           2:02:34.598
  2. Lewis Hamilton                  MERCEDES                                                          +22.000s
  3. Lando Norris                      MCLAREN MERCEDES                                     +23.702s
  4. Charles Leclerc                  FERRARI                                                               +25.579s
  5. Carlos Sainz                        FERRARI                                                               +27.036s
  6. Daniel Ricciardo                MCLAREN MERCEDES                                     +51.220s
  7. Pierre Gasly                        ALPHATAURI HONDA                                     +52.818s
  8. Lance Stroll                         ASTON MARTIN MERCEDES                         +56.909s
  9. Esteban Ocon                    ALPINE RENAULT                                              +65.704s
  10. Fernando Alonso              ALPINE RENAULT                                              +66.561s
  11. Sergio Perez                       RED BULL RACING HONDA                           +67.151s
  12. Yuki Tsunoda                     ALPHATAURI HONDA                                     +73.184s
  13. Kimi Räikkönen                 ALFA ROMEO RACING FERRARI                  +94.773s
  14. Antonio Giovinazzi           ALFA ROMEO RACING FERRARI                  +1 lap
  15. Sebastian Vettel               ASTON MARTIN MERCEDES                         DNF
  16. Mick Schumacher            HAAS FERRARI                                                   +2 laps
  17. Nikita Mazepin                  HAAS FERRARI                                                   +2 laps

NC          Valtteri Bottas                   MERCEDES                                                          DNF

NC          George Russell                  WILLIAMS MERCEDES                                     DNF

NC          Nicholas Latifi                    WILLIAMS MERCEDES                                     DNF




The return of Marc Marquez!

After an emphatic race, Fabio Quartararo took the top spot at the end of the Portuguese GP, giving him the lead in the points race. A great ride from Suzuki rider Alex Rins came to an end as he crashed chasing down P1 with 7 laps to go.

8-time world champion, Marc Marquez started his first race since getting injured back in 2020 from 6th position but ultimately finished the race in 7th in front of his brother Alex.

South African (our very own) Brad Binder finished the race in an amazing 5th position one second behind Franco Morbidelli who came in 4th position.

Francesco Bagnaia and 2020 MotoGP champion Joan Mir took the 2nd and 3rd spot respectively.

Here are the results:

  1. Fabio Quartararo              Monster Yamaha                              41m 46.412s
  2. Francesco Bagnaia           Ducati Team                                       +4.809s
  3. Joan Mir                               Suzuki Ecstar                                      +4.948s
  4. Franco Morbidelli             Petronas Yamaha                             +5.127s
  5. Brad Binder                        Red Bull KTM                                     +6.668s
  6. Aleix Espargaro                 Aprilia Gresini                                    +8.885s
  7. Marc Marquez                  Repsol Honda                                    +13.208s
  8. Alex Marquez                    LCR Honda                                          +17.992s
  9. Enea Bastianini                  Avintia Ducati                                    +22.369s
  10. Takaaki Nakagami            LCR Honda                                          +23.676s
  11. Maverick Viñales              Monster Yamaha                              +23.761s
  12. Luca Marini                         Sky VR46 Avintia Ducati                 +29.660s
  13. Danilo Petrucci                  KTM Tech3                                          +29.836s
  14. Lorenzo Savadori              Aprilia Gresini                                    +38.941s
  15. Iker Lecuona                      KTM Tech3                                          +50.642s
  16. Miguel Oliveira                  Red Bull KTM                                     +1 lap

DNF       Johann Zarco                      Pramac Ducati                                   DNF

DNF       Alex Rins                              Suzuki Ecstar                                      DNF

DNF       Valentino Rossi                 Petronas Yamaha                             DNF

DNF       Jack Miller                           Ducati Team                                       DNF

DNF       Pol Espargaro                     Repsol Honda                                    DNF


To stay up to date with relative motorsport news at home or abroad, be sure to follow and like out social media platforms: