MX Nationals – Round 3 – Phakisa MX, Welkom



A chilly morning greeted riders at the spectacular Phakisa MX Park for Round 3 of the SA MX Nationals last Saturday with the cold weather not dampening anyone’s spirits.

Here’s what transpired in Round 3 of the National MX Series:


The unstoppable Trenton Kretzmann, took over the 50cc class once again. He stormed into first place in both heats, giving him the overall win for the day on his Husqvarna. Brody Bircher was not far behind, finishing second on his KTM. Brody managed to take second for both heats giving him the 2nd overall spot for the day. Maxwell Fourie came in  3rd spot, having finished 3rd in both heats, giving the Cobra rider the last podium for the day.


Blade Tilley gave his all, as he took the double win on his 65cc Gas Gas, over KTM’s Blake Frost and Yamaha’s Aiden Henley.

Championship leader heading into Welkom, Jack Pullen could not complete heat 2, giving the red plate to Tilley going into Round 4.


85cc Pro Mini Husqvarna rider Jordan Van Wyk, managed to take the overall top position, over fellow Husqvarna rider Neil Van Der Vyver. Emmanuel Bako finished narrowly behind, taking 3rd spot overall for the day on his KTM.

Tyler Petersen will be elated as he managed to take 1st place, for the 85cc Jnr over KTM rider Jake Van Schoor.

Matthew Correia took the 3rd spot on his KTM, closing the top 3 for 85cc Jnr.


KTM’s Jonathan Mlimi was ecstatic, as he managed to edge the overall top spot of the 125cc Highschool class, by one point over Leonard Du Toit on his KTM. Amazing racing ensued, as both riders tussled for the top position in both heats. Stav Orland having finished 2nd in both heats came in 3rd tied with Du Toit in points.


Our very own Kawasaki rider, Kayla Raaf and KTM rider, Leah Heygate shared race wins once again in the MX Ladies Class, keeping them even in the points race going into Round 4.

Leah managed to take the overall top spot, as heat 2 is counted over heat 1.

Jadene De Lima finished 3rd position in both heats, giving her the 3rd position overall.


Dwayne Kleynhans was unstoppable in the 30+ MX3 class, he took 1st in both heats followed by Grant Frerichs in 2nd, and Calvin Gloster coming in 3rd overall.

Ian Topliss was once again the one to beat in the 40+ class, taking both heat wins. Taking the overall top spot over Bruce Villjoen and Philip Harper.


KTM Team Rider Cameron Durow managed to take the 1st prize in the ever-exciting MX2 Class. Durow raced to  2nd in heat 1 and a 1st in heat 2, giving him P1 in the overall points for the day. David Goosen aboard his new Husqvarna flew to come 1st in heat one, and a 3rd in heat 2 giving him the second spot. Championship leader and KTM Rider, Tristan Purdon took home the 3rd position, narrowly holding the red plate going into round 4. Current champion Anthony Raynard took the 4th spot overall on his Yamaha.


MX1 was nothing short of spectacular, as Tristan Purdon stormed through the pack on his KTM to take the top spot in both heats. Leaving Tristan as championship leader in both the MX1 and MX2. David Goosen was consistent on his Husqvarna finishing 2nd for both heats, giving him 2nd overall for the day. Jesse Wright had a fantastic ride to secure the last podium position.


The next moto will be held for the first time, at the ever-expanding Legends MX Park in Pretoria on the 3rd of July.


A huge thanks to fellow sponsors Cannabis Energy, TRP Distributors alongside Ryan Shapiro and his RaceShop.


See you in Pretoria!


You can view our previous article HERE


To stay up to date with relative motorsport news at home or abroad, be sure to follow and like out social media platforms: